RSS

The Luxe

21 May

The Luxe by Anna Godbersen.

I have already read this entire series once, but I felt I needed a refresh-reading before I reviewed it, and thank goodness I did. I’m shocked over how little I actually remember about the characters. I remembered the plot and whatnot (who did what and why, etc.), but I could not remember the personalities (with the exception of Penelope, who’s hard to forget) of the main characters.

In this first book, the entire scandal that makes up the series begins. The only character I liked was Elizabeth, because, unlike Penelope, Diana, Lina, and Henry, she did not think about herself first, she only wanted what she thought was best for her family. Those other four, however, thought of nothing but themselves the entire time. Not that this makes me thing it’s a bad book or anything, I’m positive that the characters were portrayed exactly as they were meant to be, I just felt the need to give a good round of slaps to them all.

Diana, in the end, changed, and I liked her from that (albeit late) point on. Lina, Henry, and Penelope? Nope, still all about themselves. Henry I felt was the worst, because of the incident and how his thoughts did not falter even after what had happened. So selfish. Teddy was right to reprimand him.

Anyway, great plot, well-thought-out characters, and a setting I adore.

My rating: 5/5

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 21, 2012 in Rated 5/5

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment